Killer Instinct was revived for the Xbox One in 2013, a franchise silent for 20 years before this. With this revival, it quickly become one of the most popular fighting games for the console, and earned a hard-fought slot among the best fighting games on the market today. The game has been constantly worked on and updated by the developers for years, to current day, with consistent updates and new content like stages and characters. The loyalty the brand has shown the franchise is heartwarming for any gaming fan, and truly feels priced appropriately to the gameplay itself. That continues today, and on September 20th.  Killer Instinct fans, gather and rejoice. Your game is expanding to all new levels, with Killer Instinct: Definitive Edition.

It was announced that three years after its original release, Killer Instinct will be receiving a “Definitive Edition”. What does that mean exactly? Well, let’s break it down.

Killer Instinct: Definitive Edition will include the following (and even more)

  • All released content (including characters and stages) from seasons 1,2, and 3.
  • Killer Instinct Classic (1 and 2)
  • New Modes
  • Visual Upgrades
  • All music/trailers/concept art featured in the game
  • Exclusive Gold Gargos skin


With this much content, a $60 price tag feels acceptable, and Killer Instinct even went beyond that, selling Killer Instinct: Definitive Edition for only $40. The game continues its good faith with the community still playing the game today. With this huge release of content, all the while looking to draw in those out of the loop or behind, and at a very reasonable price, Killer Instinct looks to expand its player base even further. If this list of content additions at this price tag doesn’t entice you to get started with Killer Instinct, nothing will.


Make sure to follow us on Twitter @hadokendotnet  like us on Facebook to be up to date on the latest Fighting Games News.